Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Hojai


Hojai is a city and municipal board in the Hojai region of the Indian state of Assam. The name Hojai means Priest in the Dimasa language and is one family of the Dimasa people, living in the area where the first construction took place. During Ahom's reign, Hojai was under the control of Bodo-Kacharis or Bodo-Dimasas. In fact, the word 'Kanai' comes from Dimasa. The Dimasa priestly class was known as 'Hoja' or 'Hojaisa' and the place where they lived was known as Hojai.


The toponymic analysis of the word "HOJAI" provides important clues to the reconstruction of its past tense. The area under the Hojai region now and the surrounding area is known as the "Kapili Valley Kingdom" in ancient times.


Its total area is 1686 km2.


There are 3 total villages in Hojai.


There are 102 total districts in the region.


There are 5 cities in total in the Hojai district.

All District of Assam

More Districts
About Charaideo About Chirang About Darrang
About Dhemaji About Dhubri About Dibrugarh
About Dima Hasao About Goalpara About Golaghat
About Hailakandi About Hojai About Jorhat
About Kamrup About Kamrup Metropolitan About Karbi Anglong
About Karimganj About Kokrajhar About Lakhimpur
About Majuli About Morigaon About Nagaon
About Nalbari About Sivasagar About Sonitpur
About South Salmara Mankachar About Tinsukia About Udalguri
About West Karbi Anglong

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: