Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Kamrup


The Kamrup Rural region, or just the Kamrup region (Pron: ækæmˌrəp or ˈkæmˌru: p), is an administrative district in the Indian state of Assam formed by dividing the old Kamrup region into two states in 2003. Present Assam is called Kamrup in many ancient Indian texts. It was also known as Pragjyotishpur because of the star practices (Jyotish Shashtra) that were prevalent in this part of the country at that time. However, "Kamrup" became a prominent name in the later part of history.


Kamrup is home to one of the few large colonies with the largest storks still in existence. Located in the province of Assam, the Kamrup Region is famous for its pristine temples of Kamakhya and Hajo, which attract countless tourists from all over the world.


Its total area is 3105 km2.


There are 11 sub-districts in total in Kamrup.


There are 1037 districts in total in the region.


There are 16 cities in total in the Kamrup region.

All District of Assam

More Districts
About Charaideo About Chirang About Darrang
About Dhemaji About Dhubri About Dibrugarh
About Dima Hasao About Goalpara About Golaghat
About Hailakandi About Hojai About Jorhat
About Kamrup About Kamrup Metropolitan About Karbi Anglong
About Karimganj About Kokrajhar About Lakhimpur
About Majuli About Morigaon About Nagaon
About Nalbari About Sivasagar About Sonitpur
About South Salmara Mankachar About Tinsukia About Udalguri
About West Karbi Anglong

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: