Scroll For More

Scroll For More

Raigad District


The district was renamed Raigad after the fort, which was the first capital of the former Marathi Empire. The fort was renamed from its former name, Lairi. The fort is located in the inner part of the district, in a dense forest on the western tributary of the Western Ghats of the Sahyadri Mountains. January 1, 1981, A. The name was changed by Prime Minister R. Anturei's administration. In 2011, the proportion of urban residents increased from 24.22% in 2001 to 36.91%. [4] Alibag is the headquarters of the Raigad district. 

Famous for ?

Raigad is known for its dazzling historic sites, pristine beaches, scenic landscapes and diverse flora and fauna of the Western Ghats. Known to have been refurbished by Chhatrapati Shivaji, it attracts all history lovers.


The total area of the district is 7152 km2.


District Raigad is divided into 8 subdivisions.


There are about 1445 villages in this area.


There are a total of 42 cities in the district.

All District of Maharashtra

More Districts
Aurangabad District Beed District Bhandara District
Chandrapur District Buldhana District Dhule District
Gadchiroli District Gondia District Parbhani District
Jalgaon District Jalna District Kolhapur District
Latur District Mumbai City District Mumbai Suburban District
Nagpur District Nanded District Nandurbar District
Nandurbar District Osmanabad District Palghar District
Parbhani District Pune District Raigad District
Ratnagiri District Sangli District Satara District
Sindhudurg District Solapur District Thane District
Wardha District Washim District Yavatmal District

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: