Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Birbhum


An administrative unit called Birbhum was first established in 1787 under the British East India Company, as the "District Beerbhoom". The area was formerly part of the Murshidabad region. The first region was much larger than its modern architecture.  After Diwani was ousted from the East India Company in 1765, Birbhum was managed from Murshidabad until 1787. That year because of the unstable state of the country, which required separate administration, it was established as a state with Vishnupur. In 1809, the collection of Birbhum was completed, and the district was once again managed by Murshidabad, the former Suri-Collector Assistant Collector. In 1820, Birbhum was rebuilt as a separate district and restored to its former position.


It is often referred to as the "land of red soil". Birbhum is known for its natural architecture and cultural heritage. The western part of Birbhum is a wooded region, part of the Chota Nagpur Plateau.


The region has an area of ​​4545 km2.


There are 3 complete divisions in Birbhum.


There are 215 villages in the region.


There are a total of 20 towns in the region.

All District of West Bengal

More Districts
About Cooch Behar About Dakshin Dinajpur About Darjeeling
About Hooghly About Howrah About Jalpaiguri
About Jhargram About Kalimpong About Kolkata
About Malad About Makhsudabad About Nadia
About North 24 Parganas About Paschim Medinipur About Paschim Bardhaman
About Purba Burdwan About Purba Mednipur About Purulia
About South 24 Parganas About Uttar Dinajpur

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: