Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Howrah


The history of the town of Howrah dates back 500 years, but the region is home to ancient Tribes. On October 11, 1760, as a result of the Plassey War, the East India Company signed an agreement with Mir Qasim, Nawab of Bengal, to take control of the Howrah region. In 1787 the Hooghly prefecture was established, and in 1819 the entire modern-day Howrah district was added. Bengal kingdom of Bhurshut. The Venetian explorer Cesare Federici, who visited India between 1565-79, mentioned the Butor in his diary in about 1578. According to his description, this was a place where large ships could sail (perhaps the Hoogli River) harbor. This place is visible in the modern Bator area. Bator was also quoted in the Bengali poem Manasamangal written by Bipradas Pipilai in 1495.


Often referred to as the Sheffield of the East, Howrah is known as the engineering hub, especially in the field of light engineering.


The region has an area of ​​1467 km2.


There are 14 total districts in Howrah.


There are a total of 142 villages in the region.


There are a total of 55 towns in the region.

All District of West Bengal

More Districts
About Cooch Behar About Dakshin Dinajpur About Darjeeling
About Hooghly About Howrah About Jalpaiguri
About Jhargram About Kalimpong About Kolkata
About Malad About Makhsudabad About Nadia
About North 24 Parganas About Paschim Medinipur About Paschim Bardhaman
About Purba Burdwan About Purba Mednipur About Purulia
About South 24 Parganas About Uttar Dinajpur

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: