Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Purulia


The site of present-day Purulia was part of Banga, one of the 16 Mahajanapadas according to the Jaina Bhagavati Sutra (c. fifth century CE) and was part of the land known as Vajra-bhumi in ancient times. During the Middle Ages, the area was considered part of the Jharkhand region. Purulia is one of the oldest regions in West Bengal and has rich cultural heritage. Surrounded by the provinces of Bankura, Midnapore and Burdwan It was 1956, nine years after India gained independence, when the Manbhum region was divided and the provinces of West Bengal and Bihar were established, under the International Coordination Act and the Transfer Orders Act. In November 1956, Purulia was established as one of the provinces of Western Bengal.


The Purulia tour revolves around existing hills, forests and its excavations as well as the remains of ancient buildings and temples. Tribal ethos enriches the mysterious charm and natural beauty of this land of red soil and red flowers of Palash.


The region has an area of ​​6259 km2.


There are 4 total villages in Purulia.


There are 115 total districts in the region.


There are 11 towns in total in the region.

All District of West Bengal

More Districts
About Cooch Behar About Dakshin Dinajpur About Darjeeling
About Hooghly About Howrah About Jalpaiguri
About Jhargram About Kalimpong About Kolkata
About Malad About Makhsudabad About Nadia
About North 24 Parganas About Paschim Medinipur About Paschim Bardhaman
About Purba Burdwan About Purba Mednipur About Purulia
About South 24 Parganas About Uttar Dinajpur

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: