Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Cooch Behar


Cooch Behar formed part of the Kamarupa Kingdom of Assam from the 4th to the 12th. In the 13th century, this area became part of the Kamata Empire. The Kenites ruled until about 1498 CE, when they fell to Alauddin Hussain Shah, Pathan Sultan of independent Gour. The current Cooch Behar owes its origin to the land of 'Kamta'. Some are called the 'Koch' Dynasty. Prior to 20 August 1949, Cooch Behar was a Prince District ruled by the Cooch Behar Kings. Transfer of state administration to Government. of India came into operation on September 12, 1949. However, the Cooch Behar region had been created with the same area and boundaries as the old Cooch Behar region. Cooch Behar has been transformed from state to state and from state to state.


Cooch Behar is known for its heritage of royal palaces, temples, palaces, and natural beauty. Ripendra is considered the founder of the modern Cooch Behar.


The region has an area of ​​3387 km2.


There are 5 total divisions in Cooch Behar.


There are 146 total villages in the region.


There are 297 towns in the region.

All District of West Bengal

More Districts
About Cooch Behar About Dakshin Dinajpur About Darjeeling
About Hooghly About Howrah About Jalpaiguri
About Jhargram About Kalimpong About Kolkata
About Malad About Makhsudabad About Nadia
About North 24 Parganas About Paschim Medinipur About Paschim Bardhaman
About Purba Burdwan About Purba Mednipur About Purulia
About South 24 Parganas About Uttar Dinajpur

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: