Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Purba Mednipur


East Midnapore (or Purba Medinipur) is one of the 18 administrative districts of West Bengal with its headquarters in Tamluk. The region was recorded in the ancient region of Medinipur on January 1, 2002. Purba Medinipur is made up of sub-divisions of Tamluk, Contai and Haldia of the ancient Medinipur region. Another clause, Egra was created in the sub-division of Contai during the division of Medinipur. In 2011, the government proposed to rename the region as Tamralipta district after the ancient port town Tamralipta, which used to be located near the modern regional headquarters.


Purba Medinipur witnessed many political movements during the British Raj era. A similar government called Tamralipta Jatiya Sarkar was formed during the Quit India Movement in Tamluk.


The region has an area of ​​4736 km2.


There are less than 3 total districts in Purba Mednipur.


There are 2929 villages in the region.


There are a total of 27 towns in the region.

All District of West Bengal

More Districts
About Cooch Behar About Dakshin Dinajpur About Darjeeling
About Hooghly About Howrah About Jalpaiguri
About Jhargram About Kalimpong About Kolkata
About Malad About Makhsudabad About Nadia
About North 24 Parganas About Paschim Medinipur About Paschim Bardhaman
About Purba Burdwan About Purba Mednipur About Purulia
About South 24 Parganas About Uttar Dinajpur

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: