Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About West Garo Hills


Garo Hills was divided into two districts in October 1976, the West Garo Hills and the East Garo Hills. The former West Gallo Hills district was further divided into two administrative districts, West Gallo Hills and South Gallo Hills, in June 1992. Garo's early history is a mystery. Allied with Koches, Chutiyas, Kacharis and Meches, the Garo ancestors came from the northwest. Another tradition that supports this theory claims that the Garo are descendants of their ancestors. 

Famous for ?

Widely known as Pilstan, which has been worshiped for centuries. The history behind this Darga dates back to about 700 years when Raja Mahendranarayan ruled it.


The total area of the district is 2855km2.


West Garo Hills has a total of 7 subdistricts.


There are 1577 villages on the West Garo Hill.


There is only one city in this area.

All District of Meghalaya

More Districts
About North Garo Hills About Ri Bhoi About South Garo Hills
About South West Garo Hills About South West Khasi Hills About West Garo Hills
About West Jaintia Hills

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: