About Dehradun District


Dehradun district joined the Meerut division in 1829. It has been administered as a separate district since 1871. In 1968, it came out of the Meerut division and merged with the Garhwal division.

Famous for?

Dehradun district is famous for its hill stations, Himalaya ranges, and clock tower. These are the primary attractions across the world. 


Dehradun district is located in the Uttarakhand state. It is spread over 3,088 km². The area is inhabited by 1,696,694 inhabitants. It is the second most populous district as per the 2011 census. It is part of the Garhwal region. Its headquarter is located in Dehradun. Dehradun is the capital of Uttarakhand. The native of the district speaks Garhwali and Jaunsari languages, while Hindi and Garhwali are the official languages.


The Dehradun district has seven districts that are Doiwala, Tyuni, Vikasnagar, Kalsi, Chakrata, Rishikesh, and Dehradun Sadar.


The district has 764 resided villages and 18 unpopulated villages. 

Urban cities:

Dehradun district has four urban cities such as Mussoorie, Rishikesh, Dehradun, and Vikasnagar.  Mussoorie covers 2,005 m, 11.5 km² by Rishikesh, 196.5 km² area by Dehradun, and Vikasnagar covers 452 m of area. 

All District of Uttrakhand

Tourist Places in Uttrakhand

Rishikesh Kuari Pass Sightseeing

Trekking to Kauri Pass begins with Joshimato, the hub of hikers and pilgrims. Quali Pastrek in wi..

Rudra Prayag Kartik Swami Sightseeing

Uttarakhand's Cartix Wami Temple is a sacred sanctuary with countless religious sites and exc..

Munsiyari Nanda Devi Trek Sightseeing

Trekking trails continue across vast meadows, deep valleys, historic villages, canyons, and high-..

Other State


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh




A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...