About Pithoragarh District


On 24 February 1960, a major part of the Almora district was carved out of the Pithoragarh district, including the extreme border areas with headquarters at Pithoragarh town. Champawat tehsil under Pithoragarh was carved out of Champawat district on 15 September 1997.

Famous for?

The district is remarkable for its hills and the beauty of nature. It is renowned for the title of Little Kashmir because it is found in the Himalayas and shares its boundary with Nepal and Tibet.


Pithoragarh district is district of Uttarakhand which is located in the eastern region of Uttarakhand. It is a part of the Kumaon division. The district is spread over the 7,110 km² of an area with 483,439 inhabitants. The official language is Hindu, while Kumaoni is a prominent language among the locals. Its headquarter is in Pithoragarh city. Pithoragarh city is located in saur valley. It is bounded by Nepal in the east and Tibet plateau in the north.


Pithoragarh district is further distributed into six subdivisions or tensile such as Pithoragarh, Gangolihat, Didihat, Berinag, Munsyari, and Dharchula. 


Pithoragarh district comprises 348 villages. 

Urban cities

There are eleven cities in the Pithoragarh district. 

All District of Uttrakhand

Tourist Places in Uttrakhand

© 2021 Copyright: IndiAajTak.com