About Rudraprayag District


Rudraprayag district was part of the Tehri, Chamoli, and Pauri districts. In 1997, the Chamoli district was bifurcated and made a separate district. Thus, the Tehri and Pauri districts along with the Kedarnath valley joined the Rudraprayag district.

Famous for?

Rudraprayag district is famous for its religious destinations. There are various Hindu temples like Kedarnath temple, Omkareshwar temple, Madmaheswar temple, Triyuginarayan temple, Bhairav Nath temple, Kartik Swami temple, etc. It is also popular for Char Dham Yatra. 


Rudraprayag is a district of the state of Uttarakhand that owns 1,984 km² of land with a 242,285 population. The district's border is covered by Chamoli district in the east, Uttarkashi district in the north, Tehri Garhwal district in the west, and Pauri Garh. The administrative headquarter of the district is in the town of Rudraprayag. 


Rudraprayag district comprises three subdivisions such as Rudraprayag, Ukhimath, and Jakholi. The total population of Rudraprayag is 91,859, with 87,024 people in Ukhimath, and 63,402 population is in Jakholi as per the 2011 census. 


Rudraprayag district has 303 villages. 

Urban cities:

Rudraprayag district has three cities i.e., Kedarnath, Rudraprayag, and Augustmuni. The district has 4.10% of the urban population as per the report 2011 census. 

All District of Uttrakhand

Tourist Places in Uttrakhand

© 2021 Copyright: IndiAajTak.com