Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Idukki District


District Idukki was born on January 26, 1972. The name Idukki comes from the word "Idukku" which means "canyon". Idukki was under the control of Poonjar Raja in the 16th century. Manavikrama Kulasekhara Perumal founded the Poonjar Kingdom and purchased High Range territory from Thekkumkoor Raja. Therefore, most of Idukki was in the hands of Poonjar Raja. His department was formerly headquartered in the city of Kottayam, but moved to Quirimara near Pinab and Certoni in June 1976. The Idukki district is surrounded by the Cardamon Hills of the Western Ghats in Kerala.

Famous for ?

The Idukki district is famous for its rich flora and fauna. The popular Eravikulam National Park is located and is shaped by Mount Anamdi.


The total area of the district is 4358km2.


Idukki has a total of 5 subdistricts.


There are about 66 villages in this area.


There is only one city in this area.

All District of Kerala

More Districts
About Kannur District About Kasaragod District About Kollam District
About Kottayam District About Kozhikode District About Malappuram District
About Palakkad District About Pathanamthitta District About Thiruvananthapuram District
About Thrissur District About Wayanad District

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: