Scroll For More

Scroll For More

Jalgaon District


Prior to October 21, 1960, the Jalgaon District , also known as the East Kandesh District, was part of the "Kandesh". According to Abu'l-Fazur (Gradwin's Aine Akbari 1157), the name Kandesh comes from the title of "Khan" given to King Farouki's second Maliknasil by Ahmadhi (1411-1443) in Gujarat. According to some sources, the name comes from the Khandava Forest in Mahabharata. Mahabharata refers to Yuvanshava, the ruler of the Toranmal (Nandurbar district) who fought against Pandava. The rock temples and caves of Nashik and Ajanta indicate that Kandesh was one of the rulers of Buddhism during the first three centuries of the Christian era.

Famous for ?

Jalgaon is also famous for making gold jewelery. For this reason, Jalgaon is colloquially referred to as the "Gold City" of Maharashtra.


The total area of the area is 11,765 km2.


Jalgaon Division is divided into 4 subdivisions


There are about 87 villages in this district


There is only one town in this district.

All District of Maharashtra

More Districts
Aurangabad District Beed District Bhandara District
Chandrapur District Buldhana District Dhule District
Gadchiroli District Gondia District Parbhani District
Jalgaon District Jalna District Kolhapur District
Latur District Mumbai City District Mumbai Suburban District
Nagpur District Nanded District Nandurbar District
Nandurbar District Osmanabad District Palghar District
Parbhani District Pune District Raigad District
Ratnagiri District Sangli District Satara District
Sindhudurg District Solapur District Thane District
Wardha District Washim District Yavatmal District

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: