Scroll For More

Scroll For More

Kolhapur District


Kolhapuri is famous for shri. According to the Maharakshmi Temple and common beliefs, the goddess Maharakshmi began to live in Kolhapur after a quarrel with her husband, Sir Vishnu. The name of Kolhapuri comes from the mythical event that the goddess Mahalakshmi killed a demon named Kolhapur who was oppressing the locals. Before he died, the devil wanted the place to be named after him, so the area became known as Kolhapuri. Over the years, the rulers of Kolhapuri have encouraged theaters, wrestling and other crafts. Today, Kolhapuri is a modern and industrialized city.

Famous for ?

Kolhapuri is highly industrialized. Famous for its handmade Indian leather slippers, Cole Harp Chappal, and its unique local jewelery, a special type of necklace called the Cole Harp Sage.


The total area of the district is 7692 km2.


Kolhapuri has a total of 12 sub-districts.


There are about 1223 villages in this area.


There are a total of 23 cities in this area.

All District of Maharashtra

More Districts
Aurangabad District Beed District Bhandara District
Chandrapur District Buldhana District Dhule District
Gadchiroli District Gondia District Parbhani District
Jalgaon District Jalna District Kolhapur District
Latur District Mumbai City District Mumbai Suburban District
Nagpur District Nanded District Nandurbar District
Nandurbar District Osmanabad District Palghar District
Parbhani District Pune District Raigad District
Ratnagiri District Sangli District Satara District
Sindhudurg District Solapur District Thane District
Wardha District Washim District Yavatmal District

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: