Scroll For More

Scroll For More

Dharwad District


In the 14th century, the district was first invaded by the Bahmani dynasty and then annexed by the newly established Hindu Vijayanagar Kingdom. 1403. After King Vijayanagar was defeated in Tarikot (1565), Dharwad was virtually independent under the Hindu Governor for several years. But in 1573 the fort was captured by the Sultan of Villapur. Dharwad has been incorporated into the territory of the Bombay Presidency of the British East India Company. 

Famous for ?

Known as its place in the history of Hindustani music in Karnataka. The birthplace of Sawai Gandharwa. Bharat Ratna Pandit Bhimsen Joshi and Gangubai Hangal studied Hindustani music here, and Sawai Gandharva was their leader.


The total area of the area is 4265km2.


The Dharwad has a total of eight subdistricts.


There are a total of 118 villages in this area.


There is only one city in this area.

All District of Karnataka

More Districts
Bangalore Rural District Bengaluru Urban District Bidar District
Chamarajanagar District Chikkaballapur District Chikmagalur District
Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District Davanagere District
Dharwad District Gadag District Hassan District
Haveri District Kalaburagi District Kodagu District
Kolar District Koppal District Mandya District
Mysuru District Raichur District Ramanagara District
Shimoga District Tumakuru District Udupi District
Uttara Kannada District Bijapur District Yadgiri District

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: