Scroll For More

Scroll For More

Udupi District


The region was ruled by Alpas until the end of the 14th century, followed by Emperor Vijayanagara, Keradinayakas, Haider Ali, Tipu Sultan, and the British in 1799. Prior to 1860, Dakshinakannada was part of a district called Canara under the Madras Presidency. During the 1956 reorganization, Kasaragod was moved to the newly created Kerala, and Dakshinakannada was moved to Mysore (now Karnataka). In 1997, the government divided the Dakshinakannada district into the Udupi district and what is now the Dakshinakannada district.

Famous for ?

Udupi is known for its food, temples, beaches, educational institutions and financial institutions. The name "Udupi" is believed to be derived from the Sanskrit word "udu & pa" which means "star" and "lord".


The total area of the area is 3880km2.


Udupi has a total of 7 subdistricts.


There are a total of 233 villages in this area.


There are a total of 21 cities in this area.

All District of Karnataka

More Districts
Bangalore Rural District Bengaluru Urban District Bidar District
Chamarajanagar District Chikkaballapur District Chikmagalur District
Chitradurga District Dakshina Kannada District Davanagere District
Dharwad District Gadag District Hassan District
Haveri District Kalaburagi District Kodagu District
Kolar District Koppal District Mandya District
Mysuru District Raichur District Ramanagara District
Shimoga District Tumakuru District Udupi District
Uttara Kannada District Bijapur District Yadgiri District

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: