Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Nilgiris District


Nilgiri region is one of 38 districts in the southern Indian state of Tamil Nadu. Nilgiri is the name given to a series of mountains that spread along the borders between the regions of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala An early reference to the political history of the Nilgiri, according to W. Francis is related to the Ganga Dynasty of Mysore. Shortly after the Nilgiris were annexed by the British in 1789, it became part of the Coimbatore region. In August 1868 the Nilgiri family was separated from the Coimbatore Oblast.

What is your reputation?

Nilgiris is known for its eucalyptus oil and tea, and it produces bauxite. Some tourists are attracted to the lifestyle of the various ethnic groups living here or to the tea and vegetable gardens.


The region has an area of ​​2565 km2.


There are 5 total villages in the Nilgiris.


There are 88 villages in the region.


There are 18 cities in all in the region.

All District of Tamil Nadu

More Districts
About Coimbatore District About Cuddalore District About Dharmapuri District
About Dindigul District About Erode District About Kallakurichi District
About Kanchipuram District About Kanyakumari District About Karur District
About Krishnagiri District About Madurai District About Mayiladuthurai District
About Nagapattinam District About Namakkal District About Nilgiris District
About Perambalur District About Pudukkottai District About Ramanathapuram District
About Ranipet District About Salem District About Sivaganga District
About Tenkasi District About Thanjavur District About Theni District
About Thoothukudi District About Tiruchirappalli District About Tirunelveli District
About Tirupattur District About Tiruppur District About Tiruvallur District
About Tiruvannamalai District About Tiruvarur District About Vellore District
About Viluppuram District About Virudhunagar District

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: