Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Sivasagar


Sivasagar Region, formerly known as Sibsagar, is one of 34 districts in the state of Assam in northeastern India. The city of Sivasagar is the administrative center of this region. The Sivasagar region was created after the overthrow of Purandar Singha of northern Assam in 1839. The Sadar headquarters in Sivasagar was transferred to Jorhat in 1912-13. The old undivided Sivasagar region has three sections, namely Sivasagar, Jorhat, and Golghat. In 1983, Sivasagar district was reorganized to record Jorhat district. It was relocated on August 15, 1987, to form the Golgotha ​​district.


It is well-known for its Ahom palaces and monuments. Sivasagar today is also an important center for the tea and oil industries. Sivasagar, formerly known as Rangpur, was the capital of the Ahom Empire from 1699 to 1788.


Its total area is 2668 km2.


There are 2 phases in this region.


There are 136 total districts in the region.


There are a total of 1 city in the region.

All District of Assam

More Districts
About Charaideo About Chirang About Darrang
About Dhemaji About Dhubri About Dibrugarh
About Dima Hasao About Goalpara About Golaghat
About Hailakandi About Hojai About Jorhat
About Kamrup About Kamrup Metropolitan About Karbi Anglong
About Karimganj About Kokrajhar About Lakhimpur
About Majuli About Morigaon About Nagaon
About Nalbari About Sivasagar About Sonitpur
About South Salmara Mankachar About Tinsukia About Udalguri
About West Karbi Anglong

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: