Scroll For More

Scroll For More

About Sonitpur


Sonitpur province is the administrative district of the Indian state of Assam. The regional headquarters are located in Tezpur. Its name is derived from the mythical story found in the Hindu epic. The Sanskrit word Śōṇita means blood. The words `Sonitpur 'and Tezpur literally mean" city of blood ". Sonitpur district was part of the Kamarupa district stateSonitpur was part of the Kamarupa state. Reminds us of Usha and Anirudha's love story. Legend has it that Bananasura, the great Asura king of ancient Tezpur.


It is one of the most famous historical sites in Assam where the famous freedom fighter Kanaklata Barua was born. 6) Tezpur is the capital of the Sonitpur Region and is the most important city on the northern bank of the Brahmaputra River.


Its total area is 2077 km2.


There are 4 sections in this region.


There are 1876 villages in the region.


There are 8 total cities in the region.

All District of Assam

More Districts
About Charaideo About Chirang About Darrang
About Dhemaji About Dhubri About Dibrugarh
About Dima Hasao About Goalpara About Golaghat
About Hailakandi About Hojai About Jorhat
About Kamrup About Kamrup Metropolitan About Karbi Anglong
About Karimganj About Kokrajhar About Lakhimpur
About Majuli About Morigaon About Nagaon
About Nalbari About Sivasagar About Sonitpur
About South Salmara Mankachar About Tinsukia About Udalguri
About West Karbi Anglong

Other States


A Brief Introduction of About Uttrakhand



Learn more

Uttar Pradesh

A Brief Introduction of About Uttar Pradesh



Learn more


A Brief Introduction of About Tripura



Learn more

West Bengal

A Brief Introduction of About West Bengal


West Be..

Learn more

Dadra and Nagar Haveli


Dadra and Nagar Haveli are situated in western par India...

Learn more
All States
Ladakh Lakshadweep Andaman and Nicobar
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh Assam
Bihar Chandigarh Chhattisgarh
Daman and Diu Delhi Goa
Gujarat Haryana Himachal Pradesh
Jammu and Kashmir Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh Maharashtra
Manipur Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Odisha Puducherry
Punjab Rajasthan Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Telangana
© 2021 Copyright: