About Bareilly


Bareilly was founded in 1537 by Rajput's Jagat Singh Kateriya and named after his two sons, Bansaldef and Baraldef. The city was mentioned by the historian Budauni. The foundation of the modern city of Bareilly was laid in 1657 by the Governor of the Mughal Empire, Mukranrai. It was then given to Nawab Vasil in Awad, and before being given to the East India Company, it became the capital of the Logicand region and became an integral part of India. Bareilly became the capital of Rohilkhand and became a Pashtun-dominated city with Galinawaban as the main street of the royal family. 

Famous For?

Bareilly is famous in the world of fashion design for the works of "Zari Zardoji" and handicrafts such as bamboo work, therma making, and manja pattern work. Bareilly is also a popular religious destination, especially in the world-famous "ALAHAZRAT". 


Its total area is 106 km2. 


Bareilly has 6 Tehsil and 15 blocks. 


According to the 2011 census, there are a total of 339 villages in Bareilly.


There are a total of 14 cities in this area.

All District of Uttar Pradesh

Tourist Places in Uttar Pradesh

© 2021 Copyright: IndiAajTak.com