About Meerut


The name of Melat is believed to be derived from the word "Mayarastra", which means the land of Maya, the architect of Asura (devil), according to Hindu mythology. His daughter Mandodari was the wife of Ravana, an adversary of the first epic Ramayana. In Mahabharata, Kaurava had its capital in Hastinapur, now the Meerut district. The seizure of power by the British Army has made Meerut an important military center. Meerut first caught historians' attention when the city's brave people violently resisted the invading forces of Qutb al-Din Aibak and Timur.

Famous for

Meerut is also known as the sports city of India. The city is famous as the starting point for the rebellion against British colonial rule in 1857.


The area of ​​ Meerut is 2522 km2.


Meerut has a total of three subdistricts.


There are about 221 villages in Meerut.


There are eight cities in the Meerut district.

All District of Uttar Pradesh

Tourist Places in Uttar Pradesh

© 2021 Copyright: IndiAajTak.com