About Kushinagar


Today's Kushinagar is equated with Kushinagar (pre-Buddha era) and Kushinagar (post-Buddha era). Kushinagar was the capital of Maras, one of the 16 Mahajanpads in the 6th century BC. Since then, it has been an integral part of the former empire of the Maurya, Shunga, Kushan, Gupta, Harsha and Para dynasties. However, modern Kushinagar became famous in the 19th century for being excavated by Cunningham, India's first archaeologist, and later by C.L. Continued. After independence, Kushinagar remained part of the Deolia district. On May 13, 1994, a new district in Uttar Pradesh was created.

Famous for

It is an important Buddhist pilgrimage site where Buddhists believe that Gautam Buddha reached Mahapari Nirvana after his death.


The total area is 2874 km2.


The district is divided into 6 Tehsils and 14 blocks.


There are about 1639 villages in the Kushinagar district.


There are a total of 8 cities in the Kushinagar district.

All District of Uttar Pradesh

Tourist Places in Uttar Pradesh

© 2021 Copyright: IndiAajTak.com